Unfinished Business

So I said I was going to be posting my testimony at “regular” intervals right?  You all saw how well that went right?

It’s been a problem my whole life, there are very few large projects that I have ever finished.

I have written 13 chapters to what my husband says could be a really good book.  It’s actually the same book I have been trying to write since high school.  There have been a LOT of adaptations and character changes and such, but still, it’s the same project.  I’ve started it 3 separate times.  This last time, I even had it all loaded on some website where people could read it while you were writing it and I got some great feedback.  You would think that would motivate me, but it didn’t.

I even thought about trying to get my poetry published.  At the time I thought it was decent, but I was between the ages of 14 and 19, so you can figure how good that actually was.  I have over 100 poems, I started working up illustrations to go with them.  I had a table of contents half written up.  I could even go over to the drawer right now and pull them all out.  But that’s probably not going to happen either.

I also wrote a pretty cool short story.  I had created my own greek mythology.  For those that don’t know, a lot of greek myths, gods and demigods were once people who were cursed/blessed with one thing or another.  Like the one of the lady who boasted about being the best spinner/weaver and challenged a goddess.  Well she lost, and got turned into a spider and that’s why spiders “spin” webs.  Well, I had made up my own love story about the beauty of sunsets and destruction of storms.  It’s around here somewhere.

I dabbled in art for a while when I was in high school and part of college.  I’m not too bad.  I have a folder full of drawings and a few paintings.  But as usual, I didn’t even finish the college semester of art I was taking.  The canvases I hadn’t used yet got wet and started to mold in storage so I had to throw them out.  I couldn’t even tell you where I put my art bag full of paints and brushes that my mom bought me.

I really got into quilting about 4 years ago, and started stock piling fabric.  I got quite a bit of help from the older ladies in the quilting guild I was in, they even gave me one of their old sewing machines to replace the dinosaur I was using.  I have started 10, and only finished 3. I have the fabric available to me to make at least 5 more on top of the 7 half-finished ones.  I still enjoy it, I just don’t feel like it.

I have 3/4ths of an associate degree in…….something.

I have two 55 gallon barrels outside in my backyard half full of roof run-off because I was going to make rain barrels.

I have a half-finished fire pit made out of recycled concrete chunks I found and hauled away.

My daughters crib was half-sanded and then half-painted and then — I just gave up, put it together and put her in it.  She’ll never know.

I have done a garden two years in a row.  I will get the ground worked up and plant the seeds.  I do really well at weeding every other day and watering.  I watch ’em real close for a month or two.  I prune them, fertilize them, pick off the bugs, try to keep up on the weeds.  But in the end, the weeds win, those that can survive the drought will still be around in October, and I might manage to get a tomato or two.  My first year, I had 31 different plants!!  What was I thinking!!  I did not harvest a single thing.  I just let it grow and then, I let it die, and then I let it decompose.  I am so bad at not finishing things, I barely decided to drag in the soaker hoses two months ago.  I hadn’t been in the garden in 2 years!

Why am I telling you all of this?  Why did you waste your time reading all this nonsense?  To be honest with you…….

I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

